Monday, June 6, 2016

Madison Square Garden/New York,NY/May 18,1969

"Lover Man"
"Come On (pt.1)"
"Red House" (incomplete)
"Spanish Castle Magic"
"Hear My Train A Comin'"
"I Don't Live Today"
"Voodoo Child (Slight Return)"
"Purple Haze"


This tape begins with the MC yelling "Jimi Hendrix Experience!". "Lover Man" contains some lively playing by the JHE. Before "Come On (pt.1)" an audience member is yelling for "Wild Thing". Jimi also asks the audience not to take too many flash photos.

Unusually, "Fire" contains a drum solo which leads into "Spanish Castle Magic". The unaccompanied guitar solo contains elements which would resurface at Woodstock in greater depth.

A very exploratory "Hear My Train A Comin'" is up next. Jimi's soloing ranges from aggressive to quiet and introspective. "Third Stone From the Sun" and the "Star Spangled Banner" are quickly teased toward the end of "I Don't Live Today".

Jimi dedicates "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" to "the people who came to listen". The soloing gets very sweet and quiet in the middle section. "Purple Haze" wraps up this show with some wild soloing. Finally the MC has to tell people to stay off the stage.

This audience tape is fairly enjoyable and fluctuates from average to above average.

No comments:

Post a Comment